PR Connection- Dwight Howard, Basketball Star or Movie Star?

April 28, 2010 at 11:36 pm (Comm 2322, PR Connections) (, )

Orlando Magic basketball superstar apparently keeps just as busy when he is off the court. In an article by Brian Schmitz of the Orlando Sentinel it is revealed that the young NBA center plans to take his image to the level of movie star as well as basketball sensation. Personally, I think this is a great move for Dwight Howard. Staring in movies or tv shows will expand his reputation and image to those who might not ever watch a game of basketball. I am also remind of when previous NBA stars like Micheal Jordan, Shaquille O’Neal, “Penny” Hardaway, and others who have also starred in movies themselves.

“Orlando Magic news: Big changes for Magic center Dwight Howard”

1 Comment

  1. jemolitor said,

    I never considered Dwight Howard to be a movie star, but now that you mention it I can see it. I agree with you that it would/could be a great move for him to make since he is still in his prime. He seems like a great guy and really personable. I know that he’s already in cell phone commercials and I figure why not, it could work out for him. I will have to say though as great of players as Michael Jordon and Shaq were, they weren’t very good at acting. I know a lot of people may have liked them I just couldn’t get passed seeing them in their uniforms and their lack of acting talent. Obviously I don’t know anyone them, but from what I gather I think Dwight could be different and actually do well in acting.

Leave a Reply

