Favorite Era of Public Relations??

February 16, 2010 at 2:34 pm (Comm 2322, Topic Of The Week) (, )

Picking an era of public relations before my time that I wish I could have participated in is a difficult task. It is not easy to narrow down all the significant advancements in public relations and pick a single era that I may feel is the most important. With that said, I really enjoyed learning about Edward L. Bernays and how much he contributed to public relations. I think I would chose, if it were possible, to go back and study under him as modern public relations was becoming forefront. It would have been great to sit under him in one of the very first public relations courses at New York University. Learning this valuable information and witnessing his success in early campaigns such as Ivory Soap with Procter and Gamble and the Russian dance team Ballet Russe world make be appreciate his wisdom to a great extent.

Learning under the guidance of Edward L. Bernays would allow me to see just how relevant his early teachings are for our society. Clearly, public relations is a key part of any company or individual in the public spotlight and we see this everyday. I think it is personally a little ironic how the “father of modern public relations” was able to witness the lasting effects of his work personally. Some might call it poetic justice that he amazingly lived to be 103 years old and enjoyed the effects of his work to the greatest extent.

Information taken from the source: Public Relations- Strategies and Tactics by Dennis L. Wilcox and Glen T. Cameron

Leave a comment