What is a public? Topic of the week for week two

January 31, 2010 at 10:57 pm (Comm 2322, Topic Of The Week) (, )

What is a public? This could be defined as a certain group in society one may see themselves being a member of.  I believe the most important public I am apart of is Christianity. This public shapes my worldview and my outlook on life in every possible way.For too many people this is a public they are born into and not a public they make a decision to join. Even though I have been a pastor’s son my entire life, I made a decision of my own to join this public a long time ago.

I also consider my self a musician. I have been playing music since I started playing the trumpet in middle school but it was when I started developing a passion for the guitar that I truly became a musician. After high school, I sent several years constantly traveling with my band providence . We many great times on the road. We are still good friends and we still play music together even though we do not travel as much as we used to. I currently lead praise and worship at my church. This is a new experience for me and it has help stretch me further in my faith and my musicianship.

I also consider myself to be a “techie.” I love technology and the feelings of fascination it brings me. I have to bring my computer with me everywhere I go (a mac of course). I think I really became interested in technology when I was a kid and I wondered how movies and special effects were made.  That wonderment led me to desire to learn more and more about technology. I am currently learning as much as I can about the film editing process because of the child like amazement to still brings me. I like using networking tools like facebook and of course twitter. I think it is really cool we are using it in this class.

My guitars!

Leave a Reply

